Tags

, , , , , , ,

Oh how I miss my Chinese food from Bill & Harry’s in Maplewood, NJ.  Now that I am living in Southern Texas, good luck with me finding any good chinese.  So I set out to make some myself.

Buddha’s Delight is a chinese vegetarian dish with lots of vegetables and tofu.  To save on time and chopping, I used a stir fry vegetable mix I bought at Costco.  I added extra button mushrooms, green peppers and green onions. I don’t like water chestnuts but they were included in the mix (I tried picking them out though). I also didn’t add any salt since I used regular soy sauce.

IMG_1158

Bhudda’s Delight
Adapted from Cooking Light Magazine

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon dark sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 (14-ounce) package water-packed extra-firm tofu, drained and cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 cup small broccoli florets
  • 1 cup stir-fry vegetable mix
  • 1/2 cup button mushroom (didn’t have shiitake)
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 table infused spicy sesame oil (we like it spicy)
  • 1 tablespoon grated peeled fresh ginger
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1 Red pepper, julienned
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch

Directions
I used frozen vegetables, it’s just easier and doesn’t require much chopping.

I used frozen veggies. It's just easier!

I used frozen veggies. It’s just easier!

Put a heavy weight on the block of tofu to drain all excess liquid

Put a heavy weight on the block of tofu to drain all excess liquid

After tofu is drained, cut into cubes

After tofu is drained, cut into cubes

IMG_1143

Marinade

Combine the soy sauce, seasame oil, rice vinegar, sugar and the tofu, tossing to coat.  Cover and marinate in refrigerator for 1 hour.  Drain in a colander over a bowl, reserving the marinade.

Defrost frozen stir-fry mix and leave to drain in a colander, allowing any excess water to drain.

Heat canola and infused sesame oil in a wok or large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add tofu; stir-fry 5 minutes or until lightly browned on all sides.

IMG_1150

Stir in onions, ginger, and garlic; stir-fry 30 seconds.

IMG_1153

Add all the remaining vegetables; stir-fry 1 minute.

IMG_1154

Combine broth and cornstarch, stirring with a whisk. Add cornstarch mixture, reserved marinade; bring to a boil. Cook 2 1/2 minutes or until slightly thick, stirring constantly.

IMG_1158

