Tags

, , , ,

Thai is some of my favorite food and I eat it whenever I can. My favorite being red thai curry.  It has been a few years since I have made Thai curry but since I am now living in a town that doesn’t have a Thai restaurant and I have a hankering once again for some Thai curry, I made me some!

After reading a recipe in Vegetarian Times and an article on about.com, I planned to use those recipes to make my curry. But in the end, I used the recipe on the Thai coconut milk can and made some additions of my own.  One important thing I did learn is, if you are vegetarian or vegan, you can replace fish sauce with plain old soy sauce.  My curry tastes great, and I believe I have created a Thai red curry that is very tasty and healthy!

Thai Red Curry

Ingredients
8 oz firm tofu, cut into bite sized chunks (fried)
1/3 cup green beans, cut in half
1/2 red bell pepper, julienned
1/2 cup eggplant, diced (do not remove skin)
1/3 cup baby corn
1/3 cup bamboo shoots
6 Thai basil leaves, chopped
2 Thai chiles, finely chopped (optional)
1 tbsp canola oil
1/2 cup canola oil (for deep frying tofu)
3 tbsp red thai curry paste
1 (15-oz) can coconut milk
2 Tbs low sodium soy sauce
1/4 cup water
2 tsp brown sugar

Directions
Deep Fried Tofu: in non-stick skillet or pan, heat oil until bubbling (very hot). While oil is heating up, cut tofu into triangles or cubes. When oil is hot, fry the tofu in batches, until  golden brown (frying them all at once will make the oil lose heat).

In a large pot, heat the canola oil over medium high heat. Add the curry paste infusing it into the oil. Add the soy sauce and the coconut milk.  Continuously whisk the mixture, until it is smooth (no lumps).  Add the bay leaves and the Thai chiles.  Let cook for about 30 seconds and then add water.

Add tofu, vegetables  and brown sugar.  Saute until they are coated with the curry sauce, about a minute.  Reduce heat to medium low and allow to sauce to simmer for about 15 minutes or until vegetables are just cooked).  Remove bay leaves, and chili peppers.  Sprinkle with basil leaves .


