Tags

, ,

I just love cornbread! I have eaten a lot of cornbread and most of it just hasn’t been that good.  I like cornbread that’s moist and just a little bit cakey!  After reviewing the recipe that came with my food processor, I made some changes – instead of sugar I used honey. Since I don’t drink cow’s milk, I used Silk Coconut Milk (but any milk will do).  The cornbread turned out great and definitely something I can eat!

Jalapeno Cornbread

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup cornmeal
2 ½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup honey
3/4 cup soy/coconut/almond milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
2 Jalapeno peppers (seeded and finely chopped)

Dry Ingredients

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375, and spray an 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray.  
  • In a large bowl sift together all dry ingredients – flour, cornmeal, salt and baking powder.  In another bowl combine the milk, vegetable oil and honey.  
  • Add liquid ingredients to dry.  Add the egg and jalapeno peppers.  
  • Mix all together until just combined. 
  • Pour batter into pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
