Tags

, , , , ,

I absolutely love bananas.  I always have them in the house and there are always some in the freezer.  So when I came across this recipe for banana cupcakes on Blissfully Delicious, I knew I had to make them right away – and I did!

Two things I should mention, I don’t own a stand mixer so I usually use my hand mixer, which just means you have to mix your batter just a couple minutes more than what the recipe calls for.  Also, I only have a 12 cup- cupcake pan so I had lots of batter remaining, so turned the rest of the batter into a cake, as she it could be used as such.

This was my first attempt at making frosting and this cream cheese frosting seemed simple enough, however, it didn’t turn out exactly as planned.  I mixed the cream cheese too much so it became very runny.  I added extra confectioner’s sugar to try and make the frosting thicker, and then I put it into the refrigerator – these attempts really didn’t help.  So my first foray into frosting was a big flop, but hey, it tasted great!

Banana Cupcakes (from Blissfully Delicious)

Ingredients
2-2/3 cups All Purpose Flour
1 1/4 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp salt
1-1/2 sticks butter
1 cup light brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup buttermilk (substitute with milk or coconut milk)

Directions
Whisk the flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter with a kitchen mixer using paddle attachment. Add sugar and beat for a few minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time while continue to beat at low speed and vanilla. The mixture will be silky smooth – add banana and lower speed.

Mix in the flour and buttermilk alternatively, beginning and ending with the flour.

Fill into cupcake pans (fill up about 2/3-full, you should get approximately 18 cupcakes), bake them for about 18-minutes or until a tooth pick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Alternatively, you can also bake these as layered cakes, pour into 2  9-inch pans, and bake for 45 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes in pan before inverting on wire rack to cool.

The cupcakes can be stored at room temperature for up to 2 days, or they will become dense and unappealing!

Yield: ~18 cupcakes

We're ready to eat...

Cream Cheese Frosting  (recipe adapted from Bakerella)

8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup butter, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

  • Sift sugar and set aside.
  • Beat cream cheese and butter on high until creamy. Add vanilla.
  • Then, add the sugar in batches. Scrape down the sides in between each addition.
  • And frost away.

My finished frosting that was a little too thin!

My first attempt at frosting cupcakes!

