Tags

, ,

My local HEB here in Laredo, had a sale on bananas last week so I went wild and bought much more than the both of us could eat. So finding myself with a bunch of browning bananas, I did the only thing I could – I made banana bread. Personally, I am not a big fan of cake, but I love banana bread. Considered a “quick bread”, which are breads that usually use baking powder instead of yeast. My banana bread baked up moist, sweet and just a little cake-y.

I changed the original recipe just a little using more bananas, less sugar and I don’t toast the walnuts.

Banana Nut Bread
(Original from joyofbaking.com)

1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
4 ripe large bananas (about 1.5 to 2 cups)
1 cup (115 grams) walnuts, coarsely chopped
1 3/4 cups (230 grams) all-purpose flour
1/2 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and place oven rack to middle position. Butter and flour (or spray) the bottom and sides of a 9 x 5 x 3 inch (23 x 13 x 8 cm) loaf pan. Set aside.

In a large bowl combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nuts. Set aside.

In a medium-sized bowl combine the mashed bananas, eggs, melted butter, and vanilla. With a rubber spatula or wooden spoon, lightly fold the wet ingredients (banana mixture) into the dry ingredients just until combined and the batter is thick and chunky. (The important thing is not to over mix the batter. You do not want it smooth. Over mixing the batter will yield tough, rubbery bread.) Scrape batter into prepared pan. Bake until bread is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 55 to60 minutes. Place on a wire rack to cool and then remove the bread from the pan. Serve warm or at room temperature. This bread can be frozen.

Food Processor Directions
I sometimes use my food processor to make my banana bread. With the food processor, there is no need to melt the butter, but it mixes easier if it is cut into smaller pieces.

Pulse banana 5 or 6 times until banana is mashed but still a little lumpy. Set aside banana in a bowl. Mix eggs, butter, vanilla extract. Add the dry ingredients mixture. Add bananas. Don’t process to much, just until all ingredients are mixed together. Scrape into prepared pan. Bake.

Makes 1 – 9 x 5 x 3 inch loaf.

