Tags

, , , ,

These are a favorite in my house, and since HEB has stopped carrying our favorite brand, I decided to attempt making these cookies myself.  They tasted great, but next time I need to do a better job at making them prettier.  It also gave me an opportunity to use my new mixer!  (Well new to me, since it was a “hand me down” from my sister!)

My recipe was adapted from Ina Garten’s Raisin Pecan Oatmeal Cookies.  My changes were pretty easy, I left out the pecans!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
adapted from Ina Garten

Ingredients
1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup dark brown sugar, lightly packed
1 cup granulated sugar
2 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon kosher salt
3 cups old-fashioned oatmeal
1 1/2 cups raisins


Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy. With the mixer on low, add the eggs, one at a time, and the vanilla.

IMG_1107

Sift the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt together into a medium bowl. With the mixer on low, slowly add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture. Add the oats and raisins and mix just until combined.


Using a small ice-cream scoop or a tablespoon, drop 2-inch mounds of dough onto sheet pans lined with parchment paper. Flatten slightly with a damp hand. (I didn’t have an ice cream scoop so I used a tablespoon and my baking mat instead of parchment paper).

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until lightly browned. Transfer the cookies to a baking rack and cool completely.

IMG_1116

Within 30 minutes, you can have yummy cookies!

IMG_1117

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/raisin-pecan-oatmeal-cookies-recipe/index.html?oc=linkback

